Beginner builds

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by TornadoToast, Dec 2, 2019.

1. TornadoToast Private

Message Count:
    I apologize if this has been discussed before or if this is the wrong place for it. I'm pretty new to the game and I've been looking for guides or other resources since I've started. I've checked out the wiki which had a lot of good info and I've searched the forums but my keywords don't seem to bring up much.

My main question is; what is a good build for Reikland starting out? On the wiki they suggest either going full melee or full range but in the warband composition section they mention going a mix. From everything I've gathered if I understand it right it seems like a recon captain, a couple marksmen with rifles and the rest ogres is what I want to work towards.

I know part of the fun would be theory crafting different builds but in a game where it seems like you invest so much into your guys I don't want to waste any resources while I'm learning everything. Maybe when/if we get orcs I'll spend a lot of time playing with their builds

Thanks ahead if anyone is willing to shoot some knowledge my way!
    studer1972 likes this.
  2. CzaRus Corporal

Message Count:
    This depends a lot on what do you want to play. Sniper elite band? Berserker spam? Armoured turtle with dwarves? Mage council? Bunch of muggers? Ogre spam? You should decide early, get to know the best tactics and build your warband around it. And mind you, Reiklanders are very versitale, but lack of speed skills makes them weaker at specialized roles.

Captain: Mage-pistollier/mage-swordsman is probably the best way to go in most cases. It gives you almost unlimited options and you can stick with this build to lategame easily

Rest of the team: you only need 3 henchmen, hired swords are generally better (do NOT hire the Freelancer)

With this stated, let's move onto some of the builds......

Snipers: decide to stay in low/push to high rank.