Three BIG Concept to make Warband Skirmish TRULY Legendary...

Mordheim Warband Skirmish has nailed the battle mechanics and the warband construction. It has done a fantastic job with the really hard part of making a fun and delightful tactical game. I really love MWS but after playing 250+ encounters I am wondering what the point of the game is? Are you fighting to get to very top of the Leader Boards (done that) are you fighting to max out every skill possible (done that too). So what are you fighting for, what keeps a player coming back?

I am a game designer and former GW employee who has been playing Mordheim since the very beginning. But even in the best run staff campaigns there were only a limited number of games that could be played. The best campaigns lasted 15 missions but most campaigns would normally fall apart around game five or six if you were lucky. Now with MWS I can play 20 games in a single night!!! The scale of MWS changes everything and means that new ideas are needed to keep the game fresh. Here are three big concept ideas to keep the game fun and interesting for a long time.

1. Use the Mordheim Map
2. New Varieties of Missions
3. Work in the Mordheim Back Story

--------------

1. Use the Mordheim Map: One of my favorite components of MWS is the map that shows you where all the battles are going to be fought. The problem I am running into is that the map is pretty meaningless. Yes it is cool to see an area highlighted when a mission is selected but what does that mean? Nothing really.

Why not combine the map with the difficulty of the mission. Mordheim lore establishes that life around the Black Pit is horrific and more bearable further out. Why not add a difficulty modifier to the mission. So that battles taking place near the black pit are harder with nasty traps for the player to fall into to but give more Wyrdstone?